Massive Attack

The UK based collective, formed by rapper 3D (Robert Del Naja), Daddy G (Grant Marshall) and

Mushroom (Andrew Vowles), emerged from Bristol in the late 1980's. Pioneers of the a sound which

became known as trip-hop, Massive Attack's first album – Blue Lines (1991) – was widely

acknowledged as a masterpiece, with vocals from Tricky, Shara Nelson and Horace Andy featuring

on the modern classic.

Massive Attack's second album Protection was released in 1994, with former collaborator Nellee

Hooper returning as producer. Tricky and Horace Andy again featured as vocalists, alongside

Nicolette and Everything But The Girl's Tracey Thorn.

Mezzanine followed this, appearing to widespread critical acclaim in April 1998. Guest vocalists

included Horace Andy (again), newcomer Sara Jay, and Elizabeth Fraser of the Cocteau Twins.

Mushroom left to pursue solo interests in 1999 and Marshall then went on an extended sabbatical,

leaving Del Naja to record new album 100th Window, featuring Irish singer Sinéad O'Connor and

Horace Andy alongside Del Naja's rapping.

Discography

Blue Lines (1991)

Protection (1994)

No Protection: Massive Attack Vs. Mad... (1995)

Mezzanine (1998)

100th window (2003)

Ref: /in/in.doc